top of page

Waiting for baby boy ...


This beautiful momma to be is expecting in May 2016 with her and her husbands first boy. They are already proud parents of a 2 year old beautiful girl Charlotte. They are welcoming him into their family of 3 with such sweetness. I couldn't be more excited to meet their beautiful little bundle. I'm so excited to see Char in action and what she thinks. Will she be shy or will she be momma's little helper?

I remember going from one child to two children. I was so nervous but mostly concerned. Mixed emotions of excited and blessed but again wondering can I handle this? For three years I only had one child, one that was calm, played on his own, was independent and enjoyed doing anything or nothing all day. I was on bedrest with my second and my first would lay with me all day. My fear was that the second wouldn't be as easy. Another fear was would my first feel left out, alone, not loved anymore, would he still be a momma's boy? I was scared how would I give him all of me when I was trying to give all of me to the new baby. I was hoping that I could make it through the mornings without a nap after pulling all nights with the newborn, I was hoping that I would have the energy to keep up with what my three year old needed. So much fear and anxiety all for .... nothing!

Yes, you heard me correct. When I had my second, it was like a blessing. My son loved his new brother so much, he instantly became a BIG BROTHER. He helped out and I learned lots of little tricks like when I was breast feeding my newborn, I sat on the floor with my son. I had something fun for him to do for back up if sitting next to him while he played cars or trains wasn't good enough. I got both boys on a schedule where we could all nap together (which was a secret blessing). I used all resources when it came to food prepping and ideas for dinners/lunches and such. Dishes could wait, laundry was getting done when it needed to be ... maybe not folded but that was ok. It wasn't going to sit there forever, just until I got into a routine.

Life as a family of three became life as a family of four and it was AMAZING. I learned that my son didn't need to be in stroller, walking was good for him and lucky me he stayed by my side or held my hand for the most part. I learned so much on ways to work around what I thought was going to be hard. I learned how to tell people no, now isn't a good time for us and yes please a little help is much appreciated. I learned me time was needed and one on one time with each child was needed too and don't forget your spouse. I learned that life as a momma of two kids IS SO DOABLE and was super fun, and interesting at times and I won't lie EXHAUSTING as well but it was so worth it. Being a momma of two just came naturally and all the stress was definitely not necessary.

Moral of all this is, enjoy your first child, enjoy your second child, enjoy your third, forth, fifth or as many as you please. Enjoy each pregnancy, all of it flies by so fast. Before you know it you will be reminiscing about how life was when you were a family of two and growing.

XO, J


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page