top of page

What It Means To A Photographer

As my first post on my new website, I thought this is a perfect time to let you, as my clients(and friends), know how much we (I, as a photographer) appreciate you choosing me to capture your special moments. What it means when you choose me (or a photographer) is not just “picking us” to take pictures. It’s choosing us to be part of your World, your family, trusting us as photographers with your children, with you and with your emotions. When you think of getting your pictures taken for a special occasion, it’s not just find the nearest photographer and go with it. It’s choosing the RIGHT photographer and going with them. By choosing us to take your pictures you are opening up your life, your love, your children and so much more to us.

I rarely call clients clients because I look at them now as my friends and even family, I don’t think “oh I’m going to take some pictures today,” I think WOW I get to capture these perfect little loves, or snuggle a brand new baby, or be the first to see the one year old smash their cake with their momma, or watch a first step being taken, or a kick being felt in a new mommy’s tummy. I get to capture a love that has last 10 years and is still going very strong, I capture brother’s wrestling, the two year old being a two year old, the tantrums, the tears, the smiles, the blue eyes with the wind in the hair. I get to capture more than just a simple portrait of your family - I capture an important moment with your family. Many of the laughs I capture are from my families and I goofing around. The goofy faces are probably because I’m jumping up and down like a bunny because Jimmy loves rabbits, or I’m making cartoon noises because Cash loves cartoons! The shy but adorable faces are from me asking Johnny about his new girlfriend and Charlie about his teacher he has a crush on. I don’t just tell my “clients” to smile and go on, I get to know them. I can go through all my photographs on my hard drive and tell you every child’s name. I can probably tell you their age, what toy they like or something that other people who just met them don’t know. I don’t just jump around to get the 5 year old to smile, I interact with her! I play hid and seek or even sing Frozen with her. I do what my families like, I become a friend.

A lot of the time families share with me before others their special moments, like if it’s a boy or a girl or SURPRISE we are expecting, or Surprise “will you marry me?” I come into so many wonderful families lives to capture so much more than just a simple picture.

So what it means to photographers when you “choose” someone else because well, they were cheaper, or well you just thought who cares. We care, we care as your photographer because we care about you! We care about your family and your moments. We care about how Johnny is doing in school, and how your mom is doing since she has fought cancer. It hurts us because as much as you don’t know this is more than a “job” to photographers. We become your family, we become friends.

Real photographers, charge a fair amount, we take 7-10 hours marketing our business a week, 2-3 hours getting props ready or finding the perfect one for your family, we spend 10-15 minutes on each of your very special moments we captured. Real photographers text you, laugh with you, thank YOU, and are loyal to you. Real photographers expect the same from you as well.

So next time you are thinking I need to get my family photo done, or it’s Ava’s first birthday and you want to get her pictures taken, think about the photographer who captured her when she was first born, or the photographer who captured your wedding, your engagement. If you don’t have one, look for one who has your style, who works around you and wants to know what you like and want. Look for one that’s kind hands touch peoples hearts and open arms hold all your kids for a hug at the end of each session. There’s rarely a session I leave without hugging the littles, and even mom and dad. I always am so grateful for all the special moments I capture, but mostly I’m thankful because my family grows larger, my love grows bigger and I make beautiful new friendships.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page